No Wonder Pre-Check’s Been So Rare!

Via now-closed Amex Platinum cards, my wife and I picked up Global Entry for free (a terrific benefit). I entered our known traveler number into our AA and DL profiles and stopped thinking about it. A brief bit later, while going through security to board a DL flight, I was pulled into the pre-check line. I’d completely forgotten about that aspect of Global Entry. No removing shoes, belt, etc. Fantastic! It wasn’t until I was about 50 feet past the exit that I realized what just happened. Needless to say, I’ve been looking forward to more of that treatment!

But it hasn’t happened since. Not once! Meanwhile, while traveling together, my wife’s been selected for pre-check pretty consistently. I was beginning to wonder if I’d been flagged for something or other.

Having missed pre-check again this week, I finally looked into it. My wife’s known traveler number was in my profile. I guess that explains why I wasn’t selected.

But how in the world did that change? I KNOW it was set up correctly in the first place. I have the ecstatic email to a friend after. I didn’t imagine it! I log in and out of our respective Delta.com accounts pretty regularly but don’t often modify the Profile screen. Could it be an IT glitch at Delta? Or perhaps I was updating something else and my browser autofilled it?

I dunno. I’m glad I found it though and that I wasn’t flagged. Whew.

Leave a Reply

